Short Stories and Other Pieces

Sometimes I write odd pieces that wind up becoming short stories or writing exercises. Usually they aren’t related to either my business writing or my historical fiction novels, but you might enjoy them.

Take a look and have fun. Let me know what you think……

On the End of Magick is a real departure for me. It is an attempt at fantasy in the vein of Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell. I think it’s a lot of fun. It will be featured in the 2016 Rivulets from Naperville Writers Group.

On The Rail  tries to capture the thoughts of someone during the 2 minutes or so of a horse race. It was selected to appear in Rivulets 27, the annual anthology from the Naperville Writers Group.

This story may or may not be based on someone we know.... just sayin'
This story may or may not be based on someone we know…. just sayin’

Come on, One horse, you’re supposed to be a stalker. ‘Course so was Ted Bundy and look how that worked out….

You can read the full story here.